Award Lectures



The International Xenotransplantation Association is pleased to announce the initiation of the biennial Reemtsma Lectureship.

The lectureship will honor the memory of Dr. Keith Reemtsma.  Dr. Reemtsma pioneered clinical xenotransplantation in 1963, transplanting kidneys from chimpanzees and a rhesus macaque to patients with renal failure.  His later work focused on xeno islets.  A founding member and Honorary Founding President of IXA, he collaborated with the other pioneers in the field, and either trained or encouraged the generations of scientists and surgeons who followed in their footsteps.  In addition to his many scientific accomplishments, his vision, humility, wisdom, and wit live on through the life and work of all who knew him.  This lectureship will serve as an enduring vehicle through which he can inspire future generations.

IXA expects to endow this lectureship through fundraising from IXA and TTS members, and from Dr. Reemtsma’s friends and colleagues around the world.  The lecture will honor an eminent scientist, recognizing her or his contribution to the field of xenotransplantation, and will be delivered at IXA’s biennial Congress.  The inaugural Reemtsma Lecture will be given at the IPITA-IXA-CTS Joint meeting in Melbourne, Australia, November 15-19, 2015.  When and as circumstances allow the IXA Reemtsma Lectureship Fund’s endowment will also support an additional lecture in conjunction with TTS’s biennial meeting, which is held in alternate years to IXA.

Information about how to make a donation to the Reemtsma Lectureship Fund is available here or by contacting TTS’s Sections Manager, Sondra Livingston by email (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. ) or by phone at +514-874-1717 extension 205.




Richard C. Lillehei, pancreas transplant visionary

A biennial award given to an outstanding clinician and/or scientist for their substantial contributions towards advancing the field of pancreas transplantation.

About the award: Richard C. Lillehei was part of a team of surgeons at the University of Minnesota whose vision and expertise led to performing the first successful pancreas transplant in humans in 1966. The Richard C. Lillehei Memorial Lecture Award is given biennially to a clinician and/or scientist who has made important and substantive advancements leading to improvements in the lives of patients receiving pancreas transplants. The inaugural Lillehei Lecture will be delivered at the 2011 IPITA congress in Prague and commemorates Dr. Lillehei’s outstanding achievement.

Every two years, between congresses, the IPITA Council accepts nominations for, and selects the Richard C. Lillehei Memorial Lecture award recipient.



Paul E. Lacy, Islet Transplant Pioneer

A biennial award given to an outstanding clinician and/or scientist for their outstanding achievements in the field of islet transplantation.

About the award: Paul Lacy was a pioneer in experimental islet transplantation and demonstrated proof-of-concept in animal models thereby stimulating the development of successful protocols in human clinical islet transplantation. This biennial lecture delivered at the IPITA congresses commemorates his seminal contributions to the field. The Paul Lacy Memorial Lecture Award is given to a clinician and/or scientist who has made substantial and lasting contributions to the field of experimental and/or human islet transplantation furthering Dr. Lacy’s vision.

Every two years, between congresses, the IPITA Council accepts nominations for, and selects the Paul Lacy Memorial Lecture recipient.

Translational challenges and opportunities in cellular therapies and regenerative medicine


Camillo Ricordi

The Cell Transplant Society presents the Inaugural CTS Camillo Ricordi Lecture, with a presentation by Dr. Ricordi himself. Dr. Camillo Ricordi is Professor and Chief of the Division of Cellular Transplantation, Department of Surgery and Director of the Diabetes Research Institute at the University of Miami. Dr. Ricordi served as president of the Cell Transplant Society and the International Islet and Pancreas Transplant Association, as councilor of American Society of Transplant Surgeons and The Transplantation Society. He has served on several NIH Expert Panels, Strategic Planning committees, NCRR ICR Executive Committee and is currently chairperson of the steering committee of the NIH Clinical Islet Transplantation consortium; Ricordi serves also as President of the Board of both ISMETT (Mediterranean Institute for Transplantation and Advanced Therapies) and Ri.MED Foundation. The Cell Transplant Society would not exist without Dr. Ricordi’s vision and leadership in its development and leading it to its successful position today as a leader in the science of cellular transplantation. 

TSS 2015 Logo